Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (EMRIP)

Composition and Mandate of the EMRIP

The Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (EMRIP) was created by Resolution A/HRC/6/36 the Human Rights Council (HRC) on 14 December 2007. It replaces the Working Group on Indigenous Population (WGIP) of the former Sub Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights.

The EMRIP is quite different from the WGIP :

  • It is a subsidiary body of the HRC; as such, it is located very high in the UN Hierarchy.
  • It provides the HRC with thematic expertise.
  • In itself, it essentially must carry out studies and research.
  • It presents proposals to the HRC.

The EMRIP cannot :

  • Receive or forward complaints or denunciations. This is the mandate of the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (SRIP).
  • Develop new norms.
  • Adress country situations.
  • Adopt resolutions or decisions.

The EMRIP consists of five independent experts nominated for a three year-period and who may be re-elected for an additional period of three years. For 2014-2015, they are :

  • Mr. Albert DETERVILLE (Santa Lucia) (term expiring in 2016)
  • Mr. Edtami MANSAYAGAN (Philippines) (2017)
  • Mr. Wilton LITTLECHILD (Cree, Canada) (2017)
  • Mr. Danfred TITUS (South Africa) (2015)
  • Mr. Alexey TSYKAREV (Russian Federation) (2016)

The Presidency of the EMPIR changes annually.

The annual five-day meeting (three days in 2008) is open to the following participants as observers:

  • States
  • UN mechanisms, bodies and specialized agencies, funds and programmes
  • Intergovernmental organizations and regional organizations and mechanisms in the field of human rights
  • National Human Rights institutions and other relevant national bodies
  • Academics and experts on Indigenous issues
  • NGOs in consultative status with the Economic and Social Council
  • Indigenous Peoples organizations and NGOs (please refer to the resolution below)
Informations from the Expert Mechanism